I thought you would be in Austin

Is this statement made to everyone who moves to Dallas gets, or is it just me?

I swear I have heard that at least a dozen times since I’ve moved to Dallas and it kind of annoys me. I know a good number of people in Austin (and San Antonio for what it’s worth) and I’m not sure I would even want to move there. Rent and property costs are outrageous. And it’s not like it is the same scene as it was in the late 80’s and 90’s. It seems to me that the whole “Keep Austin Weird” thing is just a big sign that it no longer is. I have no need to bash Austin though. Like I said, I have people there and it does seem like a fun town. I’m just starting to really dislike the implication that there is nowhere else worthwhile in Texas.  

In my view Dallas is an up and coming gem in the Lone Star State. It has become one of the greenest cities in the nation

It has a remarkable number of parks and trails. And it has a growing food scene as well as a long established music scene. I have found it to be a pretty fun place to be. Hell, there is even a giant, free, Earth Day festival this weekend in Fair Park

 

So I wanted to take a moment to mention some of the great places I have discovered in Dallas so far. There is a lot more awesome shit here so this list is in no way comprehensive. Just some fun stuff.

 

Spiral Diner and Bakery http://www.spiraldiner.com/

You would be a fool to come to Dallas and not take the time to eat at the Spiral Diner. It is a 100% cruelty free, vegan, establishment. Don’t let that intimidate you if you are not a vegan. Even the most dedicated of carnivores have been impressed by the quality of food they produce. It has the feel of a classic diner and you can tell that everyone that works there is really proud of what they have been able to accomplish. I cannot say enough good things about this place.

 

Three Links http://www.threelinksdeepellum.com/

Three Links quickly became my favorite place to see a show. It is small enough that it reminds me of the little punk rock clubs of my youth. What’s more is that they keep the front of the place open to the street so people can still take in what is happening from the street. I’ve seen classic punk rock acts like the Angry Samoans, JFA, Poison Idea, Negative Approach, and the list goes on and locals like the Swingin’ Dicks and Hoodrat, and even a Dead Kennedy’s cover band. They apparently have a nice selection of brews and bunch of picnic tables around back where you can sit and have a smoke if you so desire.

 

Elm Street Tattoo and the Elm Street Tattoo and Music Fest

http://elmstreettattoo.com/

http://elmstreettattoomusicfest.com/

Elm Street Tattoo is Oliver Peck’s shop and he has a great group of artists who work there. They put on the 24 hour Friday the 13th tattoo event every Friday the 13th and they also host the Elm Street Tattoo and Music fest in a partnership with The Reverend Horton Heat. Unlike many tattoo conventions where any artist can buy booth space this event is invite only so all the artists are specifically invited by Oliver and they are all top notch, especially if you like traditional American tattoos. You really can’t go wrong with either the shop or the fest.

 

Zini’s Pizza http://www.zinispizza.com/zgrid/proc/site/sitep.jsp

I’ve only eaten here twice but they sell pizza by the slice and are conveniently located across the street from Three Links. I’ve only eaten their pizza twice but both times it was really good.

 

Glazed Donut Works http://glazeddonutworks.com/ , https://www.facebook.com/GlazedDonutWorks/

A rather impressive little donut shop. They come up with some really creative products and they open a little window for the late night crowd in Deep Ellum. Their donuts are hearty, don’t think you should eat more than one.

 

Rob’s Chop Shop http://www.robschopshop.com/

From what I’ve read Rob is a national treasure when it comes to barbering. He is a helluva nice guy and he gave me the best haircut I’ve ever had so I can’t argue. He has a little one chair shop next to Fair Park that is covered with Rock and Roll memorabilia that made me feel right at home ( there were no less than 5 Cramps related items hinging on the walls). He has his own line of pomade products and I would highly recommend him to any guy looking for a great haircut.

 

Hollywood Five and Dime http://www.stylekat.com/

As mentioned earlier, the home of the Dallas Low Life shirt. This is a nifty little shop that has boots, western and work shirts, wallets, and other items. Well worth the time to visit.

 

Dallas Pin Up https://www.facebook.com/Dallas-PinUp

One for the ladies. This shop is run by a nice collective of local vendors who make clothing, jewelry, and other fun stuff. While it is mostly oriented to the retro/pinup/rockabilly scene that is cool shit here for just about everyone. Well worth taking the time to stop by.

 

This list barely scratches the surface of cool shit in the Dallas area.

 

Leave a Reply

